Bios

Barton T. Crawford

BARTON T. CRAWFORD
BART
President
bcrawford@titlegrp.com

Bart graduated from Rhodes College, in Memphis, TN in 1992 and earned a J.D. from University of Wake Forest School of Law in 1998. He was admitted to the Alabama Bar in 1998 and qualified for his Alabama Real Estate License in 1994.

Bart and his wife, Elizabeth, live in Forest Park with their two sons, Hunter and Forrest, and daughter Adelia. Bart is active in curricular sports with his children, often coaching baseball and softball teams for the Avondale League. He is also active in Boy Scouts of America. As an Eagle Scout himself, he is currently supporting his son, Hunter, as he works to earn the rank of Eagle Scout.

Bart is also active with many local and trade organizations, including:

  • The Community Foundation, Charitable Real Estate Foundation
  • Alys Stephens Performing Arts Center, Advisory Board
  • Ruffner Mountain Nature Center, Board of Directors
  • Monday Morning Quarterback Club
  • Coastal Conservation Association
  • St. Andrews Society
  • CCIM
Katherine Mitchell

KATHERINE MITCHELL
KATHY

Vice President
kmitchell@titlegrp.com

Kathy has over 35 years experience in the title insurance business in Michigan and Alabama. During this time, she has been involved in all facets of examining and underwriting title insurance for numerous residential and commercial properties. She specializes in multi-parcel commercial properties, which involve complex purchase arrangements, leases, and financing. Kathy has a wealth of practical experience and has developed excellent working relationships with local attorneys and those who represent national organizations who confidently rely on her expertise during pre-closing preparation. Kathy joined The Title Group in 1990, was promoted to office manager/senior underwriter in 1997 and Vice-President in 1999. She previously served as Alabama State Director of Southeast Land Title Association.

Thomas Williams

THOMAS WILLIAMS
Commercial Underwriting and General Counsel
twilliams@titlegrp.com

Thomas, who has been with The Title Group since 2017, is General Counsel for The Title Group. He is a commercial underwriter and is also closely involved with the company’s closing and disbursement team.

Prior to working with The Title Group, Thomas was in private practice in Huntsville until 2017 where he enjoyed a diverse practice that included title and closing services. Thomas’ community involvement has included leadership in Big Brothers Big Sisters of North Alabama, Holy Spirit Regional School PTO, Huntsville/Madison County Young Lawyers, as well as being a volunteer with the Madison County Volunteer Lawyer Program. Thomas is also a member of the Birmingham Monday Morning Quarterback Club.

Thomas is a native of Birmingham where he graduated from John Carroll High School in 1995. He attended Auburn University and earned a Bachelor of Arts from UAB in 2000. Thomas received his law degree from the University of Alabama in 2003.

Thomas and his wife Carlen live in Huntsville. They have three children, Mims, who is a student at the University of Alabama, Phebe, and John.

Crystal Chappell

CRYSTAL CHAPPELL
Account Executive
cchappell@titlegrp.com
205-552-2505

Crystal Chappell has been in the title business for 20 years. She joined Title Group in 2014 and became an Account Executive in 2019. Her years of knowledge and experience are what set her apart as your title rep! Crystal and her husband Daniel love getting downtown and experiencing all Birmingham has to offer from enjoying a new restaurant or brewery to catching a Baron’s game or going to a concert. Crystal currently serves on the board for BirminghamCREW and volunteers in her home town of Moody with the Moody Miracle League. She has worked for other title companies in the past but has found her home with her Title Group family!

Julia Adams

JULIA ADAMS
Account Executive
jadams@titlegrp.com
205-835-3020

Julia is a native of Tennessee and graduate of the University of Alabama. Upon graduation, she began a career in sales in the financial services and technology industries. Julia has been with The Title Group since 2009. She lives in Highland Park, enjoys the outdoors, is an intriguing international woman of mystery, and has three children.

Paul J. Underwood

PAUL J. UNDERWOOD
PAUL

Commercial Underwriter
punderwood@titlegrp.com

Paul has more than 20 years of experience in the title insurance industry. He has experience at all levels of title research, abstracting, examination and underwriting for residential and commercial properties. Paul joined The Title Group in June 2016.

Caroline Walker

CAROLINE WALKER
Commercial Underwriter
cwalker@titlgrp.com

Caroline is a Tennessee native. She graduated from Washington and Lee University with a Bachelor of Arts and received her law degree from Cumberland School of Law, Samford University. Prior to joining the title group, Caroline was in private practice and almost 20 years of experience in title and real estate closings.

Jean Freeman

JEAN FREEMAN
Senior Residential Underwriter
jfreeman@titlegrp.com

Jean joined The Title Group, Incorporated in April, 2012. She has over 35 years of experience in the real estate title industry with examining and underwriting residential and commercial properties and preparing closing documents.

Cynthia Powell

CYNTHIA POWELL
Senior Residential Underwriter
cpowell@titlegrp.com

Cynthia graduated from Samford University, with honors, in 1986 earning an A.A. in Paralegal Studies. With more than 20 years in the title industry, examining and underwriting residential and commercial properties, Cynthia joined The Title Group in April 2011. She is committed to continuously improving her skills and knowledge in the title industry. Cynthia lives in Pelham with her husband and son.

Support Staff

Becca Bush – rbush@titlegrp.com
Brittany Harig – bharig@titlegrp.com
Candace Roberson – croberson@titlegrp.com
Chloe Whitfield – cwhitfield@titlegrp.com
Christy Wilson-Austin – cwilson@titlegrp.com
Carrie Tatum – ctatum@titlegrp.com
Emilee Scott – escott@titlegrp.com
Harvey Fast – hfast@titlegrp.com
Kaitlyn Gill – kgill@titlegrp.com
Laura Eddy – leddy@titlegrp.com
Michael Carter – mcarter@titlegrp.com
Marissa Barnes – mbarnes@titlegrp.com
Paul Underwood – punderwood@titlegrp.com
Robin Tingle – rtingle@titlegrp.com