Bios

Thomas W. Crawford

THOMAS W. CRAWFORD
TOM

CEO and Chairman of the Board
tcrawford@titlegrp.com

Tom was born and raised in Birmingham. He graduated from Woodlawn High School in 1961, Jacksonville State College in 1965, and Birmingham School of Law in 1970.

Tom began his title career at Lawyer’s Title Insurance Corporation in June 1970 and has been active in the title insurance and real estate industries ever since. In 1984, he started Ticor Title Agency which grew and expanded and became The Title Group, Inc. in 1990.

His wife of more than 50 years, Sylvia, is a top-producing Birmingham-area real estate agent. Their two children, Bart and Amy, both work with him at The Title Group. He also has 3 grandchildren: Hunter, Adelia, and Forrest Crawford. In his spare time he enjoys cheering on his grandchildren in sports and fishing.

Tom is an active member of the community and involved in the following organizations:

  • CCIM, Alabama Chapter
  • Commercial Real Estate Club
  • Coastal Conservation Association
  • Birmingham Board of Realtors, Affiliate of the Year (1997)
  • Realtors land Institute, Alabama Chapter, Past President (1995)
  • Home Builders Association
  • Mortgage Bankers Association
  • Southeast Land Title Association (formerly Dixie Land Title Association)
Barton T. Crawford

BARTON T. CRAWFORD
BART

President
bcrawford@titlegrp.com

Bart graduated from Rhodes College, in Memphis, TN in 1992 and earned a J.D. from University of Wake Forest School of Law in 1998. He was admitted to the Alabama Bar in 1998 and qualified for his Alabama Real Estate License in 1994.

Bart and his wife, Elizabeth, live in Forest Park with their two sons, Hunter and Forrest, and daughter Adelia. Bart is active in curricular sports with his children, often coaching baseball and softball teams for the Avondale League. He is also active in Boy Scouts of America. As an Eagle Scout himself, he is currently supporting his son, Hunter, as he works to earn the rank of Eagle Scout.

Bart is also active with many local and trade organizations, including:

  • The Community Foundation, Charitable Real Estate Foundation
  • Alys Stephens Performing Arts Center, Advisory Board
  • Ruffner Mountain Nature Center, Board of Directors
  • Monday Morning Quarterback Club
  • Coastal Conservation Association
  • St. Andrews Society
  • CCIM
Katherine Mitchell

KATHERINE MITCHELL
KATHY

Vice President
kmitchell@titlegrp.com

Kathy has over 25 years experience in the title insurance business in Michigan and Alabama. During this time, she has been involved in all facets of examining and underwriting title insurance for numerous residential and commercial properties. She specializes in multi-parcel commercial properties, which involve complex purchase arrangements, leases, and financing. Kathy has a wealth of practical experience and has developed excellent working relationships with local attorneys and those who represent national organizations who confidently rely on her expertise during pre-closing preparation. Kathy joined The Title Group in 1990, was promoted to office manager/senior underwriter in 1997 and Vice-President in 1999. She is currently the Alabama State Director of Dixie Land Title Association.

Thomas Williams

THOMAS WILLIAMS

Underwriting and Escrow Counsel
twilliams@titlegrp.com

Thomas, who has been with The Title Group since 2017, is a commercial underwriter and is also closely involved with the company’s closing and disbursement team.

Prior to working with The Title Group, Thomas was in private practice in Huntsville until 2017 where he enjoyed a diverse practice that included title and closing services. Thomas’ community involvement has included leadership in Big Brothers Big Sisters of North Alabama, Holy Spirit Regional School PTO, Huntsville/Madison County Young Lawyers, as well as being a volunteer with the Madison County Volunteer Lawyer Program.

Thomas is a native of Birmingham where he graduated from John Carroll High School in 1995. He attended Auburn University and earned a Bachelor of Arts from UAB in 2000. Thomas received his law degree from the University of Alabama in 2003.

Thomas lives in Vestavia with his wife Carlen and their three children, Mary Margaret, Phebe and John.

Cynthia Powell

CYNTHIA POWELL

Senior Residential Underwriter
cpowell@titlegrp.com

Cynthia graduated from Samford University, with honors, in 1986 earning an A.A. in Paralegal Studies. With more than 20 years in the title industry, examining and underwriting residential and commercial properties, Cynthia joined The Title Group in April 2011. She is committed to continuously improving her skills and knowledge in the title industry. Cynthia lives in Pelham with her husband and son.

Ed Covington

ED COVINGTON

Vice President of Operations
ecovington@titlegrp.com

Ed began his career in title insurance, with Lawyer’s Title, upon graduation from the University of Alabama in 1969. After a career in real estate from 1977 to 1982, Ed returned to the title insurance industry opening Birmingham Title Services, which he operated until May of 2011. In June 2011, Ed joined the Title Group, Inc. bringing a wealth of knowledge to The Title Group team.

His wife, Jean, works in the field of autism. They have a son, Coates, and daughter-in-law, Lila.

Ed is active in the following organizations:

  • Birmingham Association of Realtors, former Chair of multiple committees
  • Alabama Association of Realtors, former Affiliate State Director
  • Birmingham Mortgage Bankers, Past President
  • Dixie Land Title Association, Past President
Julia Adams

JULIA ADAMS

Account Executive
jadams@titlegrp.com
205-835-3020

Julia is a native of Tennessee and graduate of the University of Alabama. Upon graduation, she began a career in sales in the financial services and technology industries. Julia has been with The Title Group since 2009. She lives in Highland Park, enjoys the outdoors, is an intriguing international woman of mystery, and has three children.

Sharon Hardegree

SHARON HARDEGREE

Account Executive
shardegree@titlegrp.com
(205) 427-3311

Sharon is from Oak Ridge, TN. She is a graduate of the University of Alabama, and a veteran Account Representative with The Title Group. She has two daughters, Wendy and Meredith, and has been married to her husband, Lee, for 39 years. In her spare time, she enjoys going to the lake, the beach and traveling.

Some of Sharon’s interests and involvements include:

  • Birmingham Association of Realtors (BAR)
  • BAR Affiliate Council
  • BAR Golf Committee
  • 2015 BAR Earline Cummings Affiliate of the Year
  • Birmingham CREW (Commercial Real Estate Women)
  • WCR (Women’s Council of Realtors)
  • Canterbury United Methodists Church
  • Tuscaloosa Red Elephant Club
  • Million Dollar Band Association
Jean Freeman

JEAN FREEMAN

Senior Residential Underwriter
jfreeman@titlegrp.com

Jean joined The Title Group, Incorporated in April, 2012. She has over 35 years of experience in the real estate title industry with examining and underwriting residential and commercial properties and preparing closing documents.

Support Staff

Becca Bush – rbush@titlegrp.com
Candace Roberson – croberson@titlegrp.com
Christy Wilson-Austin – cwilson@titlegrp.com
Crystal Chappell – cchappell@titlegrp.com
Carrie Tatum – ctatum@titlegrp.com
Danna Long – dlong@titlegrp.com
Debbia Ramsey – dramsey@titlegrp.com
Deedie Jacks – djacks@titlegrp.com
Harvey Fast – hfast@titlegrp.com
Lacy Horsley – lhorsley@titlegrp.com
Michael Carter – mcarter@titlegrp.com
Paul Underwood – punderwood@titlegrp.com
Robin Tingle – rtingle@titlegrp.com