Bios

Thomas W. Crawford

THOMAS W. CRAWFORD
“TOM”
tcrawford@titlegrp.com

Graduated from Woodlawn High School, 1961, Jacksonville State College, 1965 and Birmingham School of Law in 1970. Began title career at Lawyers Title Insurance Corporation in June, 1970 and has been active in the title insurance and real estate industry since. Started Ticor Title Agency Incorporated in 1984 and changed name of company to The Title Group Incorporated in 1990. Wife Sylvia (Real Estate Agent), daughter Amy, (Porter Capital) son Bart (The Title Group) and Grandsons, Hunter & Forrest Crawford, Granddaughter, Adelia Crawford. Active in community and business affairs as member of :

  1. Alabama CCIM Chapter.
  2. Commercial Real Estate Club.
  3. Coastal Conservation Association.
  4. Affiliate of year 1997, Birmingham Board of Realtors.
  5. Realtors Land Institute (Alabama Chapter) President 1995.
  6. Home Builders Association.
  7. Mortgage Bankers Association.
  8. Dixie Land Title Association.
Barton T. Crawford

BARTON T. CRAWFORD
“BART”
bcrawford@titlegrp.com

Bart graduated from Rhodes College in Memphis, TN in 1992 and received JD from University of Wake Forest School of Law in 1998.  He was admitted to the Alabama Bar in 1998 and qualified for Alabama real estate license in 1994.

Bart lives in Forest Park with his wife, Elizabeth, his two sons, Hunter and Forrest, and his daughter, Adelia.  Bart serves on the Charitable Real Estate Foundation for the Community Foundation.  He also serves on the Alys Stephens Center Advisory Board and the Ruffner Mountain Nature Center board.  Bart is also active with the Monday Morning Quarterback Club, the Coastal Conservation Association, the St Andrews Society and CCIM.

Katherine Mitchell

KATHERINE MITCHELL
“KATHY”
kmitchell@titlegrp.com

Katherine Mitchell has over 25 years experience in the title insurance business in Michigan and Alabama. During this time she has been involved in all facets of examining and underwriting title insurance for numerous residential and commercial properties. She specializes in multi-parcel commercial properties, which involve complex purchase arrangements, leases and financing. Kathy has a wealth of practical experience and has developed excellent working relationships with local attorneys and those who represent national organizations who confidently rely on her expertise during pre-closing preparation. Kathy joined The Title Group in 1990, was promoted to office manager/senior underwriter in 1997 and Vice-President in 1999. Kathy is currently the Alabama State Director of Dixie Land Title Association.

Cynthia Powell

CYNTHIA POWELL

Cynthia, graduated from Samford University in 1986 with an A. A. (with honors) in Paralegal Studies.  She joined The Title Group, Incorporated in April 2011.  Cynthia has over 20 years of experience in the title insurance business with examining and underwriting of residential and commercial properties.  She now lives in Pelham with her husband and son. Cynthia is commited to continously improving her skills and knowledge in the title industry.

Ed Covington

ED COVINGTON

Began in title insurance business after graduation from the University of Alabama in1969. After being in real estate sales from 1977 to 1982  Ed returned to title insurance in 1982 as owner and operator of Birmingham Title Services until May of 2011. In June   of  2011 Ed joined The Title Group as Vice President of Operations. He has served and chaired committees of the Birmingham Association of Realtors and  the Alabama Association of Realtors and served as a Director of the state association. He is Past President of the Birmingham Mortgage Bankers Association and The Dixie Land Title Association.

Julia Adams

Julia Adams
jadams@titlegrp.com

A graduate of the University of Alabama. Worked in the banking and securities industries primarily in sales and marketing positions. Lives in Highland Park and has three children.

Mary Hardin

Mary Hardin
mhardin@titlegrp.com

Mary joined The Title Group, Incorporated in February of 2006. Mary has over eighteen years of experience in the title insurance business. Her responsibilities have included mapping, managing a title plant and residential underwriting. Prior to the title business she worked for the Jefferson County Tax Assessor as a Senior Cadastral Cartographer. While working in the Tax Assessor’s office she attended classes designed by Auburn University for the State of Alabama to educate county employees from the office of the Tax Assessor and the Board of Equalization. The classes covered mapping, appraisal, tax laws and other various topics. Mary uses her experience and knowledge to provide the highest quality title commitment for her clients.

Sharon Hardegree

SHARON HARDEGREE
shardegree@titlegrp.com
(205) 427-3311

Sharon, a graduate of the University of Alabama and veteran Account Executive with The Title Group, Inc. is an active affiliate member of the Birmingham Association of Realtors. She is involved with the Women’s Council of Realtors. She currently serves on the WCR Governing Board, and is chairman of the Hospitality Committee. Sharon is also a member of Birmingham CREW (Commercial Real Estate Women), CCA (Coastal Conservation Association), Canterbury United Methodist Church and is active with various sports events in the community.

Support Staff

Becca Pryor - rpryor@titlegrp.com
Candace Roberson – croberson@titlegrp.com
Christy Wilson – cwilson@titlegrp.com
Crystal Chappell – cchappell@titlegrp.com
Debbia Ramsey - dramsey@titlegrp.com
Deedie Jacks - djacks@titlegrp.com
Harvey Fast – hfast@titlegrp.com
Krishelle Hanson – khanson@titlegrp.com
Lacy Horsley – lhorsley@titlegrp.com
Michael Carter - mcarter@titlegrp.com
Nancy Payne - nancyanna@titlegrp.com
Robyn White – rwhite@titlegrp.com
Tanya Sherer – towens@titlegrp.com